Home | Site map | Help FR | DE | NL | EN rss
News Diary Guide
blind print
Home Tourism Tours and Visits in the neighbourhoods Francorchamps racetrack

Francorchamps racetrack

The original circuit of the Francorchamps racetrack, designed by Jules de Their and Henri Langlois Van Ophem, was 15 kilometers long and laid down in the form of a triangle connecting Francorchamps, Malmedy and Stavelot. In 1925, the Belgian Grand Prix took place here for the first time.

Even in those days the design incorporated a very fast and quick circuit, and the various changes in the course that have been made over the years confirm that original intention. For example the old uphill U-turn at the bottom of the “Eau Rouge” valley, the curve called “Ancienne Douane,” was shortened to give a faster sweep straight up the hill called the “Raidillon.” This Eau Rouge is still the most famous curve on the whole of the circuit.

The course was changed several times in the past, and is now down to 7004 meters long. It is still a very fast and hilly circuit that incorporates all the characteristics that the world’s best racing drivers of all categories appreciate – and one on which the racing cars are still able to exceed the 300-km/h mark.

Between October 2006 and May 2007 the racetrack was modernized. Among other things, this includes: the building of the new F1-Tribune to FIA standards, the extension of the F1-start straight, the widening of the track between the new chicane and the exit from the hairpin curve “Source,” the construction of a run-off area at the “Source” curve, the modification of the chicane and the building of additional grandstands.

On the Spa Francorchamps track, each year the Belgian F1 Grand Prix and the 24 hours of Spa races take place. Besides these, however, many other national and international competitions are also held.
Le raidillon de l'Eau rouge
fermer

Accueil | Plan du site | Aide FR | DE | NL | EN rss
Actualités Agenda Annuaire
blind print
Accueil Tourisme A visiter Aux alentours Circuit de Francorchamps

Circuit de Francorchamps

Le tracé original du Circuit de Francorchamps, conçu par Jules de Their et Henri Langlois Van Ophem, mesurait 15 km et avait  la forme d’un triangle reliant Francorchamps, Malmedy et Stavelot. C'est en 1924 que le Grand Prix de Belgique y fut tenu pour la première fois.

À l’époque, les concepteurs voulaient un circuit très rapide et les aménagements qu’ils y apportèrent au fil du temps reflètent cet état d’esprit. Ainsi, le virage dit « de l’ancienne douane », un virage en « U » qui existe toujours, fut abandonné pour un virage plus court et plus rapide, à savoir le raidillon qui est encore toujours le virage le plus célèbre du circuit.

Le circuit fut modifié à diverses reprises et est dorénavant limité à 7 004 mètres. Il s'agit toujours d'un circuit très rapide et vallonné qui présente toutes les caractéristiques appréciées par les plus grands pilotes mondiaux des différentes catégories et où les bolides peuvent toujours dépasser les 300 km/h.

D'octobre 2006 à mai 2007, le circuit fut modernisé, avec entre autres la construction de nouveaux stands F1 aux normes FIA, l'allongement de la ligne de départ F1, l'élargissement de la piste entre la nouvelle chicane et la sortie de l'épingle de La Source, la construction d'un dégagement à La Source, la modification de la chicane et la construction de nouvelles tribunes.

Le Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps accueille chaque année le Grand Prix de Belgique de Formule 1 et la course d'endurance des 24 heures de Spa, ainsi que beaucoup d'autres courses nationales et internationales.
Le raidillon de l'eau rouge
fermer