Home | Site map | Help FR | DE | NL | EN rss
News Diary Guide
blind print
Home Tourism Malmedy History Between the Two World Wars

Between the Two World Wars

After the First World War, in which the population of Malmedy fought in German uniforms, Malmedy – just like the other eastern cantons – was annexed to Belgium by virtue of the Treaty of Versailles.

The treaty allowed that the various population groups affected could express themselves about the annexation in a referendum. However, it was carried out in a thoroughly disputable way and manner. Opponents to the annexation were asked to register in a public list – open for all to see – in their individual Communal Office. Only 271 of the 33,276 affected inhabitants of the eastern cantons were bold enough to register their disapproval in such an open manner.

Moreover, for some time there was a dispute between the Bishopric of Cologne, to which at that time Malmedy belonged, and the Holy See. In order to resolve the issue, the Vatican created the temporary diocese of Malmedy-Eupen-Sankt Vith, assigned to the Bishop of Liege. The seat of this diocese was also in Malmedy. The local parish church suddenly saw its rank lifted to that of a cathedral – a status that the people of Malmedy ascribe to it even today, despite the fact that the short-lived Episcopal See was removed back to Liege again in 1925.

During this period, the division of the canton Malmedy occurred when it lost its German-speaking parishes and these formed now the new canton of St.Vith. Malmedy retained in this move only the parishes of Waimes and Malmedy that together form even today the so-called ‘Malmedy Walloon’ area.

As in other parts of the region, in the period between the two Great Wars, Malmedy was marked on the one hand by a confrontation between the advocates of the status quo terms of the Treaty of Versailles and on the other hand those who propagated the re-annexation to Germany. This confrontation came further to a head after Hitler took power and the Nazi regime supported the active militants who called for the annexation to Germany. Even a political party was formed calling itself the “Heimattreue Front” (Patriotic Front) and the party manifesto openly declared annexation with Germany, while some members also openly supported Nazi principles.
fermer

Accueil | Plan du site | Aide FR | DE | NL | EN rss
Actualités Agenda Annuaire
blind print

Entre 2 guerres

Après la Première Guerre mondiale au cours de laquelle les Malmédiens combattent sous l’uniforme allemand, Malmedy, comme le reste des Cantons de l’Est, est ré-annexée à la Belgique en application du Traité de Versailles.

Le Traité prévoit que les populations concernées doivent se prononcer sur le rattachement à la Belgique par référendum. Celui-ci est organisé de façon contestable. Les opposants sont priés d’aller signer sur une liste ouverte à leur administration communale. Sur l’ensemble des 33.276 électeurs concernés des Cantons de l’Est, seuls 271 oseront aussi ouvertement manifester leur désapprobation.

Par ailleurs, une polémique oppose un temps l’Evêché de Cologne, dont dépend Malmedy, au Saint Siège. Pour résoudre la question, le Vatican crée temporairement un diocèse de Malmedy-Eupen-Saint-Vith, confié à l’Evêque de Liège et dont le siège se trouve à Malmedy. L’église paroissiale se trouve ainsi promue au rang de Cathédrale, rang que les Malmédiens lui attribuent encore aujourd’hui nonobstant le fait que l’éphémère évêché fut définitivement absorbé par celui de Liège en 1925. C’est au cours de cette période que se produit également la scission du canton de Malmedy qui perd ses communes germanophones, lesquelles constitueront le nouveau canton de Saint-Vith. Malmedy ne conserve que les communes de ce qui est encore toujours appelé la Wallonie malmédienne, à savoir les actuelles communes de Waimes et de Malmedy.

L’entre-deux-guerres est marqué à Malmedy comme dans le reste de la région par une opposition entre les partisans du maintien de la situation acquise suite au Traité de Versailles et ceux d'un retour à l’Allemagne. Cette opposition devient plus aiguë encore après l’accession de Hitler au pouvoir en Allemagne et l’encouragement par le régime nazi du courant militant pour le retour à l’Allemagne. Il se crée même un parti appelé Heimattreue Front (Front patriotique) dont le programme est clairement rattachiste et dont certains membres professent ouvertement des idées nazies.
fermer