Home | Site map | Help FR | DE | NL | EN rss
News Diary Guide
blind print

History and Growth

In all probability the name of “Malmedy” is derived from the Latin expression “A malo mundarum,” meaning as much as “the place of the bad confluence.” Indeed in those early days, the rivers broke their banks often and the town was regularly flooded, hence not a good place to be.
The city was created in 648, reputedly by Saint Remacle, the Provost of Solignac abbey. It developed from 648 around the area of the Benedictine Monastery that he had established. Between its establishment and 1794, the history of the town of Malmedy can hardly be separated from that of the religious Principality of Stavelot-Malmedy.
For 1146 years, Malmedy and Stavelot together formed the Principality of Stavelot-Malmedy, at the head of which there were 77 successive prince abbots of the Germanic Holy Roman Empire and the County of Logne. However, since the 11th Century there has been a rivalry between the two towns. The abbey in Malmedy never really resigned itself to the supremacy of the abbey of Stavelot.
Starting in the 16th Century various industries began to appear in the area of Malmedy: the cloth industry, leather industry and the production of gunpowder. In the 17th Century, Malmedy and Stavelot became the most important tannery center in Europe. In this period Malmedy also developed a good reputation for some further industries: cotton textile production, the production of games of chess, dominos, gingerbread, and above all the paper making industry that brings considerable wealth to the town.
Despite its neutral status and the protection afforded by the head abbots in Malmedy, in the course of its history the town has been invaded at least fifty times by plundering troops and this has not been without disastrous consequences for the population. In 1689, the town was razed to the ground on orders of Nicolas of Catinat, a general under Louis XVI.

In 1795, following the expansion of the French revolution and the territorial expansion of France, the Principality of Stavelot-Malmedy disappeared and its region was united with France. Malmedy now became a lower prefecture in the ‘département de l'Ourthe,’ capital of the 2nd communal district of the Ourthe and seat of the district court. This expanded its sovereignty to govern over, in particular, the towns of Verviers and Spa. Malmedy maintained this status up to the end of the Napoleonic times.
fermer

Accueil | Plan du site | Aide FR | DE | NL | EN rss
Actualités Agenda Annuaire
blind print

Fondation

Le nom "Malmedy" proviendrait de l'expression "a malo mundarum" qui signifiait "en purifiant le lieu du mal". La ville aurait été fondée en 648 par Saint Remacle, prieur de l'Abbaye de Solignac.  Elle se développe dès 648 autour du cloître bénédictin érigé par Saint Remacle. Entre sa fondation et 1794, l’histoire de Malmedy se confond avec celle de la Principauté abbatiale de Stavelot-Malmedy dont elle constitue un des deux pôles.

Pendant 1146 ans, Malmedy et Stavelot forment la Principauté de Stavelot-Malmedy à la tête de laquelle se succèdent 77 Princes-Abbés du Saint Empire et Comtes de Logne. Cependant, dès le 11ème siècle, des rivalités opposent les deux villes, l'Abbaye de Malmedy supportant mal la suprématie que lui impose celle de Stavelot. Dès le 16ème siècle, Malmedy voit plusieurs industries se développer sur son sol : draperie, tannerie et industrie de poudre à canon.

Au 17ème siècle, Malmedy et Stavelot sont les centres de tanneries les plus importants d'Europe. A cette époque, d'autres industries sont aussi renommées à Malmedy : fabrique de coton, fabrique de jeux d'échecs, de dominos, de pains d'épice et surtout la papeterie qui fera la fortune de Malmedy.

Malgré son statut de neutralité et la protection des princes-abbés, Malmedy est  envahie au moins cinquante fois par des troupes de passage, dont les déprédations ont eu des conséquences désastreuses pour la population ... La ville est  totalement incendiée en 1689 sur l'ordre de Nicolas de Catinat, général de Louis XIV.

En 1795, après la propagation de la Révolution française et les conquêtes territoriales de la France, la Principauté de Stavelot-Malmedy disparaît et ses territoires sont réunis à la France. Malmedy devient alors sous-préfecture du département de l'Ourte, chef-lieu du 2ème arrondissement communal de l'Ourte, siège d'un Tribunal de première instance et étend sa juridiction, notamment sur les villes de Verviers et Spa. Elle conservera ce statut jusqu'à la fin de la période napoléonienne.
fermer