Home | Site map | Help FR | DE | NL | EN rss
News Diary Guide
blind print
Home Tourism Malmedy History The Second World War

The Second World War

After the beginning of the Second World War and the capitulation of Belgium at the end of the 18-day campaign, Malmedy was incorporated into the Third Reich. This meant that all able-bodied men from Malmedy were forced to serve in the Wehrmacht and suffered a high price in the war, above all on the Eastern Front. Besides this, during the 5 somber years, many men from Malmedy perished in concentration camps because they had shown their allegiance to Belgium.

The town was liberated in September 1944 by American troops. Malmedy also provided the backdrop for two dramatic events in the course of the Battle of the Bulge. The Baugnez crossroads, 4 km southeast of the town of Malmedy, was the place of the event known as the Malmedy massacre, where, on December 17, 1944 more than 70 unarmed American prisoners of war were shot by the Waffen-SS. However, although the crossing was an important landmark, the town did not fall to the Germans at any time during the Battle of the Bulge. The attack, carried out by troops led by the notorious Otto Skorzeny, was beaten back by the American troops who were protecting the town.

Despite this, in the days from December 23 to 25, 1944, Malmedy was heavily bombed by American aircraft that led to more than 200 fatalities within the civil population. (The number of casualties amongst the American forces there has never been officially revealed.) The greater part of the historic center of the town was razed to the ground.
fermer

Accueil | Plan du site | Aide FR | DE | NL | EN rss
Actualités Agenda Annuaire
blind print

Seconde guerre

Après le déclenchement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et la capitulation de la Belgique au terme de la campagne des 18 jours, Malmedy est annexée au IIIème Reich. Il en résulte que les Malmédiens en âge de porter les armes sont obligés de faire leur service militaire au sein de la Wehrmacht, payant un lourd tribut à la guerre, notamment sur le front de l'Est. Par ailleurs, pendant ces 5 années sombres, nombreux sont les Malmédiens qui périssent dans les camps de concentration nazis pour avoir marqué leur attachement à la Belgique.

La ville est libérée par les troupes américaines en septembre 1944. Au cours de la bataille des Ardennes, Malmedy est le théâtre de deux événements dramatiques. Le 17 décembre 1944, au carrefour de Baugnez, à 4 kilomètres au sud de la cité, des Waffen-SS massacrent plus de 70 soldats américains faits prisonniers et désarmés. Cet épisode de la bataille est connu sous le nom de massacre de Malmedy. Nœud routier important, la ville ne tombera toutefois pas aux mains allemandes au cours de la bataille des Ardennes, malgré une attaque effectuée le 21 décembre 1944 par des troupes menées par le célèbre Otto Skorzeny et repoussées par les troupes américaines qui protègent la ville.

En revanche, Malmedy est victime les 23, 24 et 25 décembre 1944 de bombardements de l’aviation américaine qui font plus de 200 morts dans la population civile (le nombre de soldats américains victimes de ces bombardements n’a, semble-t-il, jamais été divulgué officiellement).  L’essentiel du cœur historique de la cité est réduit en cendres.
fermer