Home | Site map | Help FR | DE | NL | EN rss
News Diary Guide
blind print
Home Tourism Folklore and Carnival The Ch'nes

The Chnes

The exact origin of “lu cûh'née” is unknown, but it is certainly a very old tradition, because an article from the year 1890 mentions it as a rural custom.

“Cûh'ner” (pronounced ‘cush nay’) is a Walloon word, meaning more or less ‘cooking’ and from this verb, up to today, the name for a quite particular dish has developed, i.e. “cûh'née.” In Malmedy one speaks also of making a “cûh'née.”

In former times one ate “cûh'née” at potato picking time, i.e. in the months of September, October and November. The meal that was often coupled with a celebration took place in the fields or on the hills where the potatoes were cultivated. A fire was made, and as soon as only the glow remained, one let the potatoes ‘cook and split open’ (in Walloon “petter les crompîres”).

Over the years, the recipe for “cûh'née” has changed little. The potatoes are prepared as jacket potatoes, cut in two halves and salted and peppered. Then some more butter is added. One eats them together with pickled herrings and onions (fried in butter or raw and finely chopped). In addition - depending upon taste - a beer or a Peket (Liege Jenever - a form of Gin) is the perfect companion.

Today, however, the people of Malmedy cook “cûh'née” mostly at home in the family or among friends. In addition, it lives on as a tradition in different groups and organizations. For example, music associations, choirs or various clubs meet up in a hall, and after a big meal of “cûh'née” they end the evening by playing games or dancing.

fermer

Accueil | Plan du site | Aide FR | DE | NL | EN rss
Actualités Agenda Annuaire
blind print
Accueil Tourisme Folklore et Carnaval Les Cûh'nées

Les Cûh’nées

Même si l’origine exacte de la cûh’née (« lu cûh’née ») est inconnue, la tradition remonte à bien longtemps puisqu’un article de 1890 en parle déjà comme une coutume paysanne.

« Cûh’ner » (qui se dit : cûchner) est un mot wallon qui signifie cuisiner. A Malmedy, on dit « faire une cûh’née ».

Autrefois, la cûh’née se mangeait au temps de l’arrachage des pommes de terre c'est-à-dire durant les mois de septembre, octobre, novembre. Le repas, souvent suivi d’une fête, avait lieu dans les champs, sur les collines, où étaient cultivées les pommes de terre. On y allumait un feu et lorsqu’il n’en restait que les braises, on faisait « petter les crompîres » (éclater les pommes de terre).

La recette de la cûh’née a très peu changé. Les pommes de terre sont cuites en robe des champs. Coupées en deux, salées, poivrées, on y ajoute du beurre. Elles sont mangées accompagnées de harengs marinés et d’oignons (cuits au beurre ou crus hachés fins). Pour accompagner le tout … une bière ou du pékèt, selon les goûts.

Par contre, aujourd’hui, c’est le plus souvent chez eux que les Malmédiens font les cûh’nées, en famille ou entre amis. Il est aussi de tradition pour les groupes tels que les sociétés musicales, les chorales, ou les clubs divers de se rassembler dans une salle et, après la cûh’née, de poursuivre la fête par des jeux ou une soirée dansante.
fermer